Musa Out as Iwobi, Mane & Salah Make Shortlist For African Player of the Year Award


Unarguably Nigeria best player in the Russia 2018 world cup, Ahmed Musa will not win his first African Footballer of the Year award in 2018.

The Confederation of African Football has announced the top 10 shortlist for the 2018 African Player of the Year with Iwobi, Salah and Aubamenyang in the running And Ahmed Musa not making the cut.

Super Eagles Ahmed Musa

Alex Iwobi, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, and Sadio Mane made the cut decided by votes from the members of the CAF Media Committee, CAF Technical & Development Committee and half of the 20-member panel of experts.

Liverpool star Mohamed Salah won the accolade for 2017 after a sizzling season for the English Premier League side.

The winners will be decided by votes from the head coaches and Technical Directors of the National Associations affiliated to CAF.

The Awards Gala will take place on Tuesday, 8 January 2019 in Dakar, Senegal.

10-man shortlist for African Player of the Year

Alex Iwobi (Nigeria/Arsenal), Mohamed Salah (Egypt/Liverpool), Andre Onana (Cameroon/Ajax), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon/Arsenal), Anice Badri (Tunisia/Esperance), Riyad Mahrez (Algeria/Manchester City), Denis Onyango (Uganda/Mamelodi Sundowns), Sadio Mane (Senegal/Liverpool), Medhi Benatia (Morocco/Juventus), Walid Soliman (Egypt/Al-Ahly)

  • 60

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *