AFCON 2019: Super Eagles To Face Guinea, Madagascar, Burundi In Group B


The Super Eagles of Nigeria got a slot in what looks like an easy Group B of the Africa Cup of Nations 32nd edition tournament to hold from June 21 to July 19 2019.

In a draw ceremony held next to the pyramids in Giza on Friday and anchored by the Confederations of African Football’s assistant General Secretary Anthony Baffoe, the three-time AFCON winners were pooled in same group with debutants Burundi, Madagascar, and Guinea.

Seven-time winners of the competition and host of the tournament, Egypt were drawn against Zimbabwe, Uganda and DR Congo in Group A.

Emmanuel Amuneke’s Tanzania are in Group C with Kenya who are making a return to the tournament after 15 years, Algeria and Senegal in Group C.

Namibia are in Group D alongside South Africa, Ivory Coast, and Morocco, while Group E houses Angola, debutants Mauritania, Mali and Tunisia.

In Group F, five-time winners and holders Cameroon – now managed by Clarence Seedorf , will also be there to defend their title starting with games against Guinea Bissau, Benin – who are back to the tournament after nine years of absence and Ghana.

Zimbabwe who qualified for their second tournament will face Egypt in the opening game.

Among the guests who were at the draw venue includes former Super Eagles winger Emmanuel Amuneke (the current Tanzania coach, Cameroon’s Rigobert Song, Egyptian four-time winner Ahmed Hassan and Senegal’s El Hadji Diouf, ex-Ivory Coast midfielder Yaya Toure, Moroccan Mustapha Hadji amongst others.

AFCON 2019 Groups:

Group A

Egypt, DRC, Uganda, Zimbabwe

Group B

Nigeria, Guinea, Madagascar, Burundi

Group C, Senegal, Algeria, Kenya, Tanzania

Group D

Morocco, Ivory Coast, South Africa, Namibia

Group E

Tunisia, Mali, Mauritania, Angola

Group F

Cameroon, Ghana, Benin, Guinea Bissau

  • 65

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *